KPI's for Purchasing Dept

We have a purchasing database for our buyers to look over stock and other items to help with their job function. However, as a manager I mostly spend my time in the Sales Database to work with my sales team and feel that I should start setting up a dashboard for KPI on the purchasers themselves. How are you using Phocas to manage your purchasing department and judge performance?

1 Like

DIFOT (Delivered in full, on time) and OTD (On-time delivery) are the big ones for us. We also use it to forecast rolling 12 month purchases as we have a purchase order stream within our purchase database.

I setup for our purchasing manager 4 monthly favourites that I subscribed him to, so that he can take the data dump it into a spreadsheet and produce our monthly purchasing report which shows our forecasted purchasing against our forecasted sales from back orders and current vs. previous month stock balances.

Hope some of this helps.

1 Like

We look at fill rate out of our DC and GMROI as our main KPI’s to evaluate the effectiveness of our stocking strategy. Buyers are part of that discussion as is the Inventory Control Department and Branch Management.

1 Like

Yes this is helpful and I will look and creating some similar favorites to see how they work for us. Which system are you running for your ERP? We are eclipse users and find it difficult to track DIFOT (Delivered in full, on time) and OTD (On-time delivery) from that system. Can you elaborate on that aspect with respect to Phocas (if you are even using this system for that metric).

Thank you again for your insight.

This is another good point and we also look at GMROI. Appreciate your feedback as well.

We use Pronto as our ERP.

For DIFOT and OTD, we are just comparing our actual receipt dates vs our expected receipt dates which Pronto allows us to capture easily on the PO.